Word of the Week: Amuse-Bouche

In continuing the conversation around small plates and little bites common in restaurants and at events, we’ll look at this weeks Word of the Week — Amuse-Bouche!

According to Merriam Webster, an amuse-bouche is “A small complimentary appetizer offered at some restaurants”

I’m not usually able to patronize restaurants with amuse-bouche offered. Unfortunately, my budget for eating out is tighter than it used to be these days. In college, I was dating a person with a fairly large allowance (I know, I know) and whenever his wealthy parents would visit, we would all get treated to pricier options in and around Boston.

We sometimes splurged, just the two of us, and restaurant week made that more feasible. During Restaurant Week one year we went to a restaurant in Boston, and of course I can’t remember the name of it because I have a memory like a goldfish. At this place, I ordered risotto and before our meals came, we were given little complimentary shot glasses of gazpacho. Aha! The elusive amuse-bouche in its natural habitat!

Of course, these aren’t ordered from a menu. They’re gifts. They seem like a way of introducing the patrons to the chef’s work and perspective. Though it sounds like they used to be considered bonuses, they’ve now become expected in higher end restaurants.

For those new to Restaurant Week, now called Dine Out Boston, it is an event window in March and August during which participating restaurants offer prix fixe menus for lunches and dinners. I didn’t go this past August, but maybe I’ll pick someplace fun for March. My birthday is in March, so it might be just the thing. Check Dine Out Boston out here.

“Amuse-bouche.” Merriam-Webster.com. Merriam-Webster, n.d. Web. 2 Nov. 2014. http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/amuse-bouche

Leave a comment